knitting, baking and cultivating

Strictly speaking this post should be titled crochet, baking and cultivating, but it just didn’t sound right. We had a lovely weekend pottering about in the garden and the kitchen. Its amazing what you can get done once the soccer season is finished! Here’s a quick round up.

crochet hearts and frilly bunting

I made this sweet crochet heart bunting using my three favourite colours that work so well together. I love this light turquoise cotton yarn. Once finished, I put my feet up on the deck with a cuppa, feeling quite pleased with myself.

crochet heart bunting

I decided to hang it on the wall in the family room off the kitchen. Hubby just rolled his eyes when he saw it saying ‘oh you put it there did you’.

coloured accessories in lounge room

dusk photo showing view from the kitchen

We spent time outdoors working on the veggie patch and using the compost from the bin. It turned out pretty good, I don’t have a great track record with compost making. Supposedly a simple thing to create, but I usually end up with a stinking slimey mess. This time is was crumbly and rich. We planted cauliflowers, broccoli, snow peas, lettuce, sugar snap peas, zucchini and a giant pumpkin seed, just for fun.

homemade compost

One of the chooks enjoying a peck about in the grass.

free range brown chook

We made lemonade using the last of the citrus.

homemade lemonade

A colourful tray of fresh veggies ready to go in the oven with butterfly lamb for dinner.

fresh roast veggies

I made some vanilla bean ice cream as we had an egg surplus due to hubby being away these past 2 weeks. My son helped make chocolate lava pudding to have with it. Not the prettiest dessert but so yum!

chocolate lava pudding with homemade vanilla bean ice cream
Thats my weekend round up. What did you get up to?
T x

7 thoughts on “knitting, baking and cultivating

  1. That sounds like a busy and productive week. How delicious that pudding looks! It’s nice to see you heading towards spring and the season of planting. CJ xx

  2. All looks quite yummy, and glad you had a special weekend! I’ve never made ice cream, but it is one of my favorites. We have trouble passing up a Dairy Queen for a mini blizzard.

  3. Your crochet bunting is sweet. The colours go really well with the picture on the wall. My husband wouldn’t get it either, but I think it’s pretty. And it’s lovely to see you and your family enjoying fruit and veg you’ve grown yourselves plus eggs from your chickens. The vanilla ice cream looks so yummy!

  4. I love the bunting! And the food looks yummy, especially the chocolate dessert! My husband has tried to impose a ban on several crochet items, bunting being one of them, but seeing as I have oercome the doily ban I’m sure I’ll manage some at some point! x

Please leave a reply here

