A weekend of simple living

I love weekends where you can just go with the flow, with no firm plans made. This weekend was particularly nice, with kids getting along with each other and spending time outdoors. The girls collected lemons off the trees and wanted to make lemonade from them. It was actually quite delicious, better than the lemon slice I tried to make a few weeks back which was a complete disaster.

homemade lemonade

 

homegrown lemons and papaya

lemons collected off the tree, and some papaya, and a bowl of pumpkin seeds ready for the veggie patch

The local strawberry farm opened their farm shop to the public this weekend and I bought the plumpest sweetest strawberries I have ever tasted. The smell of strawberries in the shop is just so mouth watering. I’d have a hard time working there. The kids devoured them in seconds.

fresh strawberries

The neighbour invited us over for drinks saturday afternoon and the kids played while we chatted and drank wine. After dark the kids went inside and played chess! Very civilised, unlike us grown ups. The husbands had sore heads in the morning! Sunday was spent outside working on the veg patch again. My son has a ‘get rich quick’ scheme planned by growing and selling herbs at the gate. I’ll keep you posted on that little project.

veggie patch

Pumpkin soup was made for lunch with pumpkin bought from the farm shop. Twelve eggs were collected from the chooks, then a fire was started at the bottom of the paddock to burn off some of the lantana we cleared. The kids played in the paddock with the chooks and there was huge excitement when one of the chickens found an enormous spider and ate it. The kids were fascinated!

IMG_5441 IMG_5461 IMG_5443

 

in the paddock

the kids have even worn the dog out

Then of course the kids decided we couldn’t have a fire without marshmallows.

IMG_5456 marshmallows on the fire

 

ride on mower fun

Hitching a free ride back after a good day in the paddock

Dinner was organic butterfly lamb bought from the farmers market, with roast potatoes and veggies, followed by a movie and bed, feeling tired and content.

I hope you all had a good weekend. Thanks for all your comments on my previous post. I will post more info on those cushions in my next post as so many of you liked them. I will also be sharing my spare room makeover 🙂

7 thoughts on “A weekend of simple living

  1. What a lovely weekend. Picking lemons from your tree…goodness that must be wonderful. I wish I could have a lemon tree. And those strawberries, they look so good. We are having a great year for strawberries here, and they are so sweet. Your property looks amazing, what a wonderful place to grow up enjoying. I think seeing kids exhausted at the end of the day from time spent outside, being wild and free, is one of the best things.

    Have a wonderful week.

  2. Sounds like a really great weekend. Those papayas remind me of home. I have missed those sweet, tasty fruit *sigh* They do sell them here but they cost a bit and they don’t taste as good as those grown in backyards back home. Those strawberries look great too. The smell must be heavenly!

  3. That sounds like a really great weekend. I love reading about how other people spend their weekends! I’m jealous of the lemons growing on trees… I hope this coming weekend as as relaxing. x

Please leave a reply here

