Five on Friday

Joining in with Amy from Love made my home, this week I’m sharing five wonderful things from our short break away to Stradbroke Island.

We wanted to take the in laws away somewhere where we could see a bit of wildlife, do a spot of fishing, and really just enjoy a quiet break away from normality. Stradbroke Island is the best place to get away from it all. The Island is situated just south of Brisbane in the Morton Bay region, just a 45 minute ferry ride from the mainland. The island has 5000 permanent residents, but in the summer holidays it peaks to 50000 people! I really cannot imagine how that many people can fit in such a small place. As we were going out of season it was lovely and quiet, we felt we had the place to ourselves. We stayed at Sea Shanties, in two cute, well appointed beach cabins by the water. Wild koalas were frequent visitors to the site. In our 11 years in Australia we have never seen Koalas in the wild until now, so this was fantastic. I was snapping away with my camera like a tourist on overdrive.

Wild Koala on stradbroke island Koala in a gum tree

We did the North Gorge walk which was just stunning. You can look down from the cliff tops and see sea turtles and rays swimming down in the water. It seemed pretty rough down there, like a washing machine with surf and sea going in all directions. The beaches were amazing with miles and miles of soft white sand and turquoise water. Apparently the beaches are notorious for sharks and friends have often seen huge sharks very close to shore. We didn’t spot any though, much to my son’s disappointment.

A kangaroo followed us along the coastal path

Kangaroo on the coastal path

North Gorge stradbroke island North Gorge Stradbroke island

 

danger sign stradbroke island cliffs

Scary sign on the cliffs.

stradbroke island beach

This beautiful beach was just a 10 minute walk from Sea Shanties

beach walk

Hunting for starfish

IMG_5362 IMG_5365 IMG_5347

 

Wild dolphins cruised past the site daily. They came right up to the jetty at night when we put the light on for fishing. They obviously knew this spot was an easy place to get a free meal.

IMG_5356 dolphins in the sea

 

I took my crochet with me to get some of the granny stripe blanket done. Sitting by the water basking in the winter sun with my crochet and a cuppa was just idyllic.

crochet granny stripe by the sea

 

We watched the most amazing sunsets, with the sky changing colour by the minute, displaying the most intense shades of orange and blue. We could enjoy this while cooking in the outdoor kitchen at night which was great, as we felt like we were camping, but had the comfort of a proper bed and shelter at night.

sunset

My daughter photo bombing the sunset shot

sunset on stradbroke island

I hope you enjoyed my five little snippets from Stradbroke Island. Its funny looking back over these pictures as it looks warm and sunny, but it was absolutely freezing!

Please go and visit the other bloggers joining in with Amy this week for Five on Friday.
Have a lovely weekend.

18 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. Wonderful photos, and such a treat to see those koalas in natural habitat. Looks like a great place to visit, for sure, and I can almost hear the water rushing in your photo.

  2. Great moments from your travels!!! So glad that you had such a good time. The sign is a little scary though. I love that the animal you spotted on the path is a kangaroo, I don’t read many blogs where the spotted animal is a kangaroo!! Of course the sunset is beautiful!!!! Thank you so much for joining in. I hope that you have a great weekend. xx

  3. What a wonderful place with great beaches and amazing wild life. My girls and I are quite taken by those koalas too. My nearly-five year old kept saying ‘so cute!!!’ when I showed them the pictures. Thanks for showing us this beautiful place.

  4. What an incredibly beautiful place to visit! A lovely vacation spot. I would have loved seeing the wild koalas! And the dolphins. Your photos are wonderful!

  5. I so enjoyed seeing your beautiful photos. I love the koala and the kangaroo. In 2004 my husband and I were lucky enough to visit your beautiful country. It’s an amazing place. Happy Friday and enjoy your weekend.

  6. What a wonderful getaway and how lovely to see the animals where they are supposed to be … in their own habitat. I’d much rather see dolphins than sharks any day. 🙂 It’s nice to have an adventure but yet still be close to him so your travel time is limited. Crochet is such an easy hobby to pack and go…I carry it everywhere. Have a great weekend. Tammy

  7. What wonderful photos!
    I have never visited such a gorgeous beach, seldom seen even photos as beautiful. The sand is so very fine! Thank you for sharing and have a lovely Sunday!
    PS Lovely colours in your granny stripe blanket!

  8. Wow your pictures are stunning! How wonderful to see a koala in the wild 🙂 and the kangaroos are so gorgeous! I hope your In Laws have had a great time! The blanket is looking great 🙂

Please leave a reply here

