Five on Friday

Joining in with Amy from Love Made My Home,Β my five on friday is five things I made this week. In my last post I was whinging away about how I wasn’t getting anything done, but now I have written this I feel much better. I did actually achieve something! Ok, it wasn’t housework, although that did feature in my daily schedule as always, but these little bits of homemade goodness are way more fun.

Crochet

crochet pot cover

I braved the treble crochet stitch and managed to create this handy little tin can cover using some random yarn from the stash. The pattern used was one of Lucy’s at Attic 24 and is nice and easy for a beginner like me. I used a cocoa powder tin which works well for this project as its nice and straight, so the crochet cover fits perfectly all the way down, no need for shaping. I removed the lid so I could keep my crochet hooks and scissors handy.

crochet mini basket next to bead bracelets

I also made this little mini basket. I was inspired by those dipped paint effect lampshades and baskets that are cropping up in home magazines with those beachy themed rooms. I love that look and thought I could create this myself with crochet. Its a bit too small to be useful really, but I thought it could hold a few jewellery items or hair clips.

crochet babushka half finished

This one is a bit of a cheat, didn’t quite manage to get this one done, it is an almost finished babushka doll that I started a couple of weeks back. Its dark as anything today with the torrential rain we are having here, not great photo taking weather. I hope to show the finished version very soon, just got to get re-motivated. Its the sewing part I don’t like so much. I have to be in the mood.

Baking

chocolate almond cakes

Continuing the Valentines day theme (I haven’t caught up to pancake day yet) I made some chocolate almond cakes decorated with hearts using icing sugar dusted over a cardboard heart template. This simple decoration really makes them look just that little bit special. The recipe is gluten free and taken from Belinda Jeffery’s ‘Mix and Bake’ book which I absolutely love. The other slice is a raspberry and white chocolate slice, an absolute fave in this house. Its a recipe I have tweaked and played around with to make gluten free. Not always successful, but it worked out this time.

pizza dough rising

Making our own pizza dough is always fun and the kids have become quite good at it. Pizza made with fresh homemade dough is so delicious. We use this easy pizza dough recipe and it comes out good every time.

homemade pizza

Thats my five for this week. Thanks to Amy for organising this blog link up. If you would like to join in next time please click the image below which will take you to Amy’s blog.
Have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚ T x

16 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. I love those crochet-covered tins, and yours is so colourful! Your tiny basket is so cute! And the baking going on in your house looks yummy!! Enjoy your day πŸ™‚
    Wendy

  2. Well you did have a good week with baking and crochet. Me too! I have been making granny squares, and I made a butter cake with passionfruit icing, and my husband’s favourite slice – ‘Matrimonial slice.’ The last couple of days I have been tracking the cyclone as we were in the cyclone forecast zone, In the end it didn’t come anywhere near our area, though we did experience some strong wind gusts. I hope you fare well with all the heavy rain that has been falling down your way.

  3. Mmmmm those chocolate almond cakes look delicious! And the pizza πŸ™‚ Loving the crochet too, I might steal the tin cover idea! Looking forward to seeing the finished babushka!

  4. Hello Teresa
    I loved your five – your crochet pieces are beautiful. I’m a wanna be crochet doer!
    I can do the first round and then I seem to get lost! I’ll persevere when winter comes – too hot here.
    Love the raspberry slice – any chance of your recipe?
    My best friend who lives in Brisbane is coming over tomorrow to stay for a few days!
    Lovely to meet you!
    Shane x

  5. Hi Teresa, just wanted to let you know that you won a runner up prize in my Giveaway πŸ™‚ yippee! Please can you email me your postal address so I can get the parcel packaged up and sent off to you πŸ™‚
    Jillxo

Please leave a reply here

