A few things going on

The kids have started their new school, the house is quiet, except for hubby working in his study, and the whirr of the washing machine, so I am slowly going through my to-do list. I am struggling with the heat and humidity here at the moment so progress is slow. I only have to pick up the vacuum cleaner and take it downstairs and I’m already breaking into a sweat. The plus side to this is my washing dries in about 30 minutes. Gotta love that! I have called an electrician so we can have a few ceiling fans installed which should help with the heat situation indoors at least. Despite the crazy temps, I did manage to get out and weed the veggie patch.

overgrown veggie patch

this was the veggie patch before weeding

veg patch round the water tank

veggie patch after weeding

You can see the water tank now! It goes about two thirds of the way around it, following the slope. I have planted a few things but the only plants that have been successful so far are tomatoes, cucumber and sweetcorn. I think it is too hot and humid for anything else to take at the moment. At least it gives me time to plan my Autumn garden. I really want to grow herbs too as its so expensive to buy fresh herbs, even from the farm shop. Apparently herbs grow well here year round so fingers crossed we can get a good crop happening in a couple of months.

We had a lot of rain during January but it seemed to come all at once, resulting in a bit of localised flooding in our basement. We had to dash off and buy a pump to get the water out but a more permanent solution needs to be found. The joys of house buying! The heavy rain did make for some interesting exploring around the property though.

walking in a stream

the overflow from our dam

trees under water

flooding in the woods

giant mushrooms

strange mushrooms that look like ghosts

These mushrooms look like the ghosts off pac-man – remember pac-man anyone?

IMG_4920

I finally finished the snake I started last november, just in time for christmas. I made it for my little one and she loves it. It has taken up residence in the lounge room mostly, but is tucked up with her in bed each night. She now wants a baby one to go with it. She might have to wait until the cooler weather I think. I made the tail too short as I read the pattern wrong. I was so annoyed when I realised, which was way too late.You can see how much she loves him as he has gone all bobbly now.

crochet snake

crochet snake finished

I have made some progress with the crochet russian doll, its almost done although I need to sew on some decoration and the face and hair, then add the scarf section to the body.

crochet russian doll

I hope you have a good monday 🙂
T x

 

7 thoughts on “A few things going on

  1. That is an impressive amount of weeding! I hope you’re settling in now and the move went ok. And yes, I remember Pacman, and yes those mushrooms do look like the ghosts. x

  2. Hello! Lovely photos! The snake has such nice colours!
    In response: Rohnda prices it at $1.72 for 10 litres. With the ingredients you buy to make it you can make several batches so it works out to be much much cheaper ☺️

Please leave a reply here

