Our new life in the country

Well we made it!. Our tree change to Queensland went without a hitch. We got through christmas, had back to back visitors and now hubby is back at work and I am entertaining the kids during the school holidays. I managed to get most of the unpacking done before christmas, but then ran out of steam and motivation so there are still a couple of boxes in the hallway waiting for my attention. We still have pictures to put up, but we’re getting there.

acreage

Our front yard

I have to acknowledge the beautiful cards Alison from Life at Sylvan House sent me before christmas as part of Amy’s christmas card swap. A gorgeous cross stitch snowman card and an equally lovely new home card. I love the beachy picture on the card, just my sort of thing. Thankyou Alison for these and your kind words. (Sorry about the blurry image, it looked fine until I uploaded it).

christmas and new home card

lovely cards from Alison as part of the christmas card swap

We have been out and about quite a bit exploring our new area. The countryside is just stunning. I love breathing in the sweet fresh air and listening to the birds.

glasshouse mountains

view from Mary Cairncross scenic reserve

The beaches are fantastic and we have been spending a fair bit of time there as the weather has been so hot. The humidity is a killer, sapping all your energy.

view from point cartwright

view from point cartwright

 

coolum beach

Coolum beach view from boardwalk 

Bribie Island

Bribie Island

view from point cartwright towards mooloolaba

view from point cartwright towards mooloolaba

I’m enjoying being home with the kids these holidays. Despite the holidays being a bit too long, and sometimes hard work, its so great to have the whole day to do what we like without clock watching and rushing off to various activities. I love being able to take off down to the beach at 4pm if we feel like it.

jetty

Its steamy hot today so a quick trip to the beach is in order before dinner.
Perfect sunday 🙂

Hope you are enjoying your weekend T x

 

8 thoughts on “Our new life in the country

  1. Hi Teresa! Wow, your new area looks amazing! I’m glad to hear that you’re settling in nicely. Send some of that sunshine and heat this way, will you, we’ve had more snow here and it’s so chilly!! 😮 xx

  2. It is freezing here and I’m snuggled up with a hot water bottle. So I am super envious of your heat and humidity, energy-sapping or not! Your front yard is fabulous 🙂 Glad your move went well,
    Jillxo

  3. Beautiful spot, and that last photo made me laugh – reminds me of one of my own daughters. Thanks for your comment on my blog, I have no other way to contact you, but I thought that if you planned to make your own wire baskets, have a read of this tutorial before you start, you may find it useful: http://www.homemadebycarmona.com/diy-wire-baskets/ – or you could just be a hack like me and wing it.

Please leave a reply here

