Halloween crafty fun

I don’t know about you, but I like halloween. Its a bit of harmless fun, getting dressed up, doing craft with the kids, carving pumpkins, decorating the front door ready for trick or treaters. I love seeing all the costumes and the little kids excited faces.

IMG_4633

I know halloween isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. A couple of years ago my husband took the kids trick or treating down our street. One person had a sign up saying ‘we do not support this pagan festival’. I know it has dark undertones, but I do think they were a little bit over the top. When trick or treating with the kids now, we tend to only visit houses that have decorated for the occasion, that way we know we’re not upsetting those that aren’t into it. The kids and I always decorate pumpkins and put them outside so local families know we welcome trick or treaters. Our designs have been more adventurous this year.

three pumpkins different colour and shapes

These three were transformed into…

halloween decorated pumpkins

I was browsing the net to find some easy halloween craft projects I could do with the 5 year old, without too much help from me. I came across a lovely little craft project to make hanging bats at happy clippings. Its an easy little project that uses things I have in my craft cupboard, googly eyes, glue, black paint, ribbon and egg boxes.

IMG_4639 IMG_4642

I think they look pretty cute hanging about my place. For me, halloween is all about crafty fun and dressing up with the kids. They love it when I dress up too. Are you planning a party or some halloween fun this weekend?

jack o lantern

4 thoughts on “Halloween crafty fun

  1. Hi Teresa, I agree with you, Halloween is a bit of harmless fun for the kids though possibly a bit taxing for parents who are not creative, or who are short on time. I bought some “treats” yesterday and had no ‘trick or treaters’ call, though there were some in the area. Maybe I should have put out a pumpkin. LOL. I look forward to reading more about your move to the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Montville is lovely, isn’t it? Nearby Kondalilla Falls used to be a favourite picnic spot of ours when I was a child.

Please leave a reply here

