Tree change countdown

Well, I’m back, after eight weeks of drama and excitement! I’ve been busy. We have finalised our tree change plans and it is happening. Our dreams have come true. There is no turning back. Our house is sold and we have found a new home nestled on a 10 acre plot surrounded by rainforest in the beautiful sunshine coast hinterland. There will be a lot to learn but we are ready to jump in with both feet. I had such a lovely time house hunting since my last post. It was fantastic having time to myself. I stayed in a little B&B called Monbii, right on the edge of Montville with the most beautiful views out to the coast.

IMG_4245

early morning mist over the lowlands

kookaburra

An eager Kookaburra eyeing my breakfast

The room was gorgeous with a big comfy bed, and a wonderful deck from which to sit and ponder the views. It was hard to tear myself away. The bathroom had a huge spa bath with a view, and candles were provided in the room for the full decadent experience. Of course I had to indulge. The continental breakfast was fantastic, a real treat with fresh fruit, croissant and pastry or mini quiche, thick creamy yoghurt and fruit juice. Too much for me in one sitting, so I took the quiche with me for a quick snack between house viewings.

scrumptious breakfast

scrumptious breakfast

I managed to sneak in a spot of shopping and lunch in gorgeous Montville, and wished I’d brought a bigger suitcase with me. I finished off my trip with a walk along Coolum beach before heading to the airport. It was lovely to be there on a friday afternoon with people out walking dogs, mums with kids in school uniforms burning energy off after a busy week, and teenagers heading out to catch a few waves before dusk. It had a such a laid back vibe. I’m sure its a different story during peak holiday season though.

enjoying a stroll along the beach at low tide

enjoying a stroll along the beach at low tide

guys out for a surf

guys out for a surf

coolum beach

failing light and long shadows as I leave the beach and head to the airport

Back home we started the laborious job of packing boxes and having a clear out. Luckily we are not hoarders so fingers crossed the job won’t be too bad. I was hoping to get back into doing some craft projects again. I still haven’t finished the knitted bunting for my daughter. We had a lovely day yesterday just relaxing by the pool. We really needed it as the past few weeks have been hectic with open homes and house viewings. We treated ourselves to some french champagne in the afternoon, curtesy of our real estate agents. Hubby chilled out on the daybed and I sat and did a spot of crochet while sipping a cold glass of bubbles. Perfect.

champagne and flowers

Our lovely congratulations gift

I hope your weekend was a relaxing one too 🙂

T x

10 thoughts on “Tree change countdown

  1. Wow the view in the first picture is breathtaking! Sounds like your new place is perfect and I love the Kookaburra. Your beach pictures are lovely too. I would love to live by the seaside.x

  2. Hi there, just popped by to say thank you for coming looking for me. I really appreciate it, and your lovely comment too. I will be back and I am reading, but just taking a break from comments so that I can spend less time on the computer in general. Thank you again, so sweet of you. Amy xx

  3. My goodness that certainly is a big change and one I am sure you are going to enjoy. Many congratulations and I can’t wait to see you in your new home and wonderful surroundings. Lots of pics please for us all to drool over.

  4. You can see our garden shed in the photo with the kookaburra. Welcome to country living and glad the move has went well. There is a mum’s group starting in Pamwoods next Wednesday if your interested.

    • Thanks Lizzie, we’re not quite there yet – we’re popping up for a few days towards the end of the month for school orientation, then the BIG move a week or so later. the mums group sounds good – I’ll pop in when we’re settled.

Please leave a reply here

